IPHCA Resources

Bridging the Gap: Behavioral Health and Oral Health in Public Housing

November 9, 2020   1 pm ET/12pm CT /11 am MT/10am PT

Oral health and behavioral health are intimately connected, which can impact health outcomes. Individuals with behavioral health concerns are more likely to have poor oral health. Poor oral health can also result in behavioral health impacts. Individuals in public housing are at risk for experiencing both poor behavioral and oral health outcomes.

Dental providers have a unique opportunity during dental appointments to assess behavioral health status and link patients to behavioral health care. In partnership with the National Center for Health in Public Housing, this webinar will review behavioral health data and resources from a recent survey of residents of public housing. The webinar will also highlight how a health center dental program located in public housing integrates behavioral health screening and referral into oral health care.

1 CDE will be offered.

Speakers
Saqi Maleque Cho, DrPH, MSPH – National Center for Health in Public Housing
Kristi Thomas, DDS – Central City Integrated Health, Michigan

Learning Objectives
• Review recent data on the behavioral health status of residents of public housing.
• Describe how oral health may impact mental health.
• Learn how dental programs can integrate behavioral health screenings into care. 

Share this content:
Contact CTA
Members CTA
Events Calendar

Related Resources

Resource
Posted December 2, 2020

2021 IPHCA Legislative Agenda

Read more
Resource
Posted November 23, 2020

Federal Government Contacts

Read more